peach basil sangria

 

When I made this recipe from Gourmet the first time, it was an instant hit with my guests. The second time, I accidentally added too much sugar and it was still a hit, albeit a little more dessert-wine than dinner-wine, so I know this is a quality recipe. I’m not big on sweet drinks so I’ve taken out the sugar, letting the peach nectar sweeten it instead but since we just harvested over thirty pounds of honey from our hives on Tuesday, I might just have to add a bit in for a sweet treat. I also added in a can of ginger ale to give it a little fizz since I prefer my sangria sans ice.


Peach sangria closeup2

 

Peach Basil Sangria

(adapted from Gourmet Magazine, July 2005)

  • 1 cup loosely packed fresh basil leaves, plus an
    additional 8-10 sprigs

  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 can peach nectar
  • 1 (750-ml) bottle chilled dry white wine
  • 1 large peach (peeled if desired), diced
  • 1 large apple, diced
  • 1/2 cup ginger ale
  • 2 Tablespoons honey

Put basil leaves, honey, peach nectar and
lemon juice into a small saucepan and bruise leaves by mashing with a wooden
spoon. Bring just to a simmer, stirring until honey is dissolved. Remove from
heat and let stand 5 minutes, then pour into a heatproof pitcher. Stir in wine,
peach, ginger ale, and basil sprigs. Chill, covered, at least 1 hour and up to
24. Serve over ice.

Picture via Mostly Foodstuffs


 

Leave a Reply

